The New M.E. Generation











{October 9, 2008}   The Swedish Massage 9 – Six degrees of separation

A former classmate of mine, Rob, found out I was living in the area and contacted me. I’ve been reconnecting with an assortment of people throughout the months and it was very pleasant to see him again after so many years.

Rob picked me up and we decided to have some drinks. We are sitting at the bar having a great time. Some time later, he excuses himself from the table and while he was away, I started looking around at the other people, when all of a sudden (record scratch sound in my head), I see, Erik?

OMG, he’s sitting right on the opposite side of the table. And I’m wearing the same dress that day I met him! Is this for real?

I kept staring at him and he seemed to have briefly stared at me. He is sitting with a pretty girl, looking very cozy with her. I could only wonder if that’s the girl he talked about in his message.

When Rob gets back, we kept talking about school, then life. I don’t mention the Erik incident.

“I remember you were very shy and always sitting quietly at your desk,” Rob says.

He’s been divorced for some time and it was inevitable that the conversation would shift to this topic. I still needed to talk about this and I presented him with questions he can’t all answer.

“It takes time to heal, you know. Believe me, you’ve gone through the worst part already. One day you will look back and remember this conversation. What you need to do now is get your life back on track. Don’t worry, you’ll be fine.”

‘You’ll be fine.’ That’s what everyone is telling me. But, will I be?

Just before we called it for the night, I see Erik finishing his drink, getting the check, etc. Before he gets up from the chair, he does what confirmed to me he was ‘that guy’ – he kisses the girl’s hand, just like he did when I first met him.

I called Dina the next day. “Remember the Swedish guy?” I dished out every detail, including the part about the dress.

“I don’t believe it. It’s so funny!” said Dina.

“It sure was, in every sense of the word,” I concluded.

I finally laughed for the first time in a long time.

Yes, maybe my friends are right. I’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
