The New M.E. Generation











{November 10, 2008}   The Bostonian 6 – The simple life

Ross and I are standing in line to buy the movie tickets when I get nervous.

Should I pay for my ticket or should he? I started hyperventilating. Breathe in; breathe out, slowly. Some divine intervention, please. Anyone?

It’s our turn. I took out my credit card and offered to pay mine. “Forget that,” he said.

We sat at the theater and the movie trailers were previewed. The one for ‘Mamma Mia’ came up and I started singing to all the Abba songs featured in it, especially ‘Dancing Queen:’
‘You can dance
You can jive
Having the time of you life’

‘Hey, maybe this is how things will turn out to be,’ I said to myself, ‘having the best time I’ve ever had, living the life I truly deserve.’

“Oh, by the way, I sing all the time,” I told Ross.

I then got a flashback of me singing to Donna Summer’s ‘Last Dance’ song at my ‘x’ 40th birthday party back in 2006. I didn’t let anyone else get a hold of the microphone. After all I had gone through, I needed to get whatever I had bottled inside out of my system. I didn’t care if my singing was good or bad. I just did it.

(What’s his name) didn’t acknowledge what I did. Once again he managed to hit our relationship with another sour note.

The Eddie Murphy film, ‘Meet Dave,’ was a hit for a date movie. We both laughed throughout the entire feature. There were no sex scenes, nudity, violence or political undertone. Perfect.

It was like when I was single, when things were much simpler and didn’t give much thought of what should happen next. I took life one day at a time and that was it.

I exhaled. If only my life could be as perfect as this moment.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
