The New M.E. Generation











{November 29, 2008}   You Can Be My Hero 5 – Am I ready to take the heat?

Madelyn called me the next day.

“So, how was it last night?” she asked curiously.

“Good. Met some people, made some contacts…,” I explained.

“I also meant the firefighter,” she said seriously.

“That went well too,” I said in a reserved voice.

“Oh, c’mon, you know, and I surely do, that it wasn’t that bad!! Admit it,” said she.

“What do you mean?” I asked her kind of scared of being told the truth, like she always does.

“That you had the chance to leave when I sent you the text message. You could have told him that you were meeting up with a friend or something. You had the perfect excuse to leave but, instead, you chose to stay.”

Amen.

She’s right. It wasn’t that bad.

I really didn’t want to leave Brian, but I knew that have I stayed longer, I would have probably ended up doing something I would have later regretted.

Like, what? Getting burned?

I can’t even answer that myself.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
