The New M.E. Generation











{August 7, 2009}   In The Beginning 10 – The fuzz in the buzz

I finally called Ricky back.

Madelyn was right. What’s all the fuzz I’ve made over a phone call? Plus, I’m also probably right. For sure he’s inquiring on the whereabouts of his artwork. All I need to do is make the call and speak to him in a manner that shows that my life is doing well, which it is.

“Ricky, hi, it’s Emma. I believe you tried to call me?” asked I in a calm tone.

“Emma!! How are you??” (I was correct; he was buzzed.)

“Life’s good. How about you? You sound very cheery.”

“Yeah, I had a couple of glasses of wine.” (Glasses or bottles?)

“And you called because…” I then asked.

“I moved into a new place and my walls are kind of bear, so I was hoping to get back my artwork.”

“Well, I had promised to keep it as ‘a loan’ and be returned whenever you asked to,” said I. “When were you thinking of picking it up?”

“In a couple of days.”

“I’ll tell you this, I’m about to leave town for a week. But I will give you a call once I come back and we’ll schedule a day. You can call me when you get to my building and I’ll bring it down to your car.” (What? You thought that I would actually invite you back to my apartment? Noooo. I know better than that by now.)

I sensed that Ricky’s buzz suddenly fizzled. “Ok, please do. Bye.”

I was now the one with a natural buzz. I don’t know how that comment came about, but it was great! It was like the ‘slap in the face’ that this experience needed to put it to rest.

And you know what, I feel good!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
