The New M.E. Generation











{September 12, 2009}   The Week That Was 2 – Quickie number 5

Shortly after Jay and I became online friends, he emailed me saying that he was planning to make a trip to a location about 40 minutes away from where I lived to do water skiing, and asked me if I would consider driving there and meeting up with him.

‘You? You have an interest in me? Since when? From what?’ were questions that crossed my mind.

The way I was looking at things was that I just got back from a trip from which I only knew this person for 5 minutes.

Yes, you did help me to finally water ski (and I will always be grateful for that). But how is it possible that in those ‘5 minutes’ you developed some interest in me?

Let’s get real here. Before we became online friends, you only knew me for my first name. That’s it!

All you saw was this girl running around the resort having a good time. I wanted to meet guys, but to just keep them as friends, if that.

‘So what’s is it going to be?’ Hmm, I’m not quite ready to make any quantum leaps at this time. But Jay’s display of attention and interest also intrigues me.

If I say ‘yes’ and meet up with him, I will probably regret it afterwards. If I say ‘no,’ he will take it personally. (I know this feeling quite too well.) I know!

“Jay, I’m sort of seeing someone at this time, and would be unfair to you or this person if I went up to see you.” (This sounds so 3pm soap.) “But would like to continue our online friendship if possible.”

Jay and I kept talking online, but, in the end, he did not make it down, not sure why, but certainly not because of me. Well, that’s what he said, that there had been a change in plans. He probably realized the truth and came up with some excuse himself as well.

But, this was not the end of it. Shortly after telling me he was not going to be able to make it, he said he had another vacation time a couple of months later. And he would greatly want to water ski and spend some time with me, being the second the decisive factor of the trip.

Aah, what? Me over water skiing?

Don’t know what to say…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
