The New M.E. Generation











{March 2, 2010}   Failure To Connect 13 – Water freeze

About a half hour later, Christian finally called back. “Done! Headed your way already. Should be there any minute now.”

I literally grabbed my things, jumped out of the car and ran towards the marina. When I got there, Christian and his buddy were waiting for my arrival.

When I got there I was almost out of breath. “Hello again,” said I to him. He introduced me to his fishing buddy.

And off we went! It was not the first time I’ve been in a boat (this one was about 20-25 feet long, pretty much what I’ve been before), so I knew how to maneuver around it.

The day was perfect for taking a boat ride. There was not a lot of wind, making it easy to sail. Jumping waves may sound like a lot of fun to you. But when a boat this size starts jumping up and down hard, better have a strong stomach ‘cause you’re going to feel it.

We cruised for about 15 minutes until we reached a shallow area in the middle of the open water that it’s a favorite for small boats and people to hang out.

The area was pretty full, so finding where to anchor was no easy task. Because I’ve been in boats before, I tried to help in whatever way possible. I was determined to at least give a good impression of a skilled boater if all else failed (I meant whatever happened after today’s encounter).

When all was under control, Christian and I stepped off the boat and sat on the water. His buddy stayed behind.

Christian and I were sitting face to face looking at each other and (now that the meeting finally occurred), neither one had any idea what to say. We were totally speechless.

Is this crazy or what?

He finally broke the silence. “So, we finally made it.”

“Yeah, I thought it would never happen.”

So what am I now supposed to do? Do I hug him? Kiss him? Ask a trivia question?

Another divine intervention please!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
