The New M.E. Generation











{April 20, 2010}   Another Cougar Moment – Being there

Another year comes and goes, and what a better way to honor the start of a new one, than getting together and celebrate Dina’s birthday.

Yes, her arrival into this world occurred the first week of the year, many moons ago. Plus, she had just come back from a trip abroad that, once again, showcased her adventurous side and how she makes the most of those moments when she’s somewhere in the world.

Dina gathered together a group of friends for dinner, to be followed afterwards by some dancing. I got to the restaurant around 8pm and pretty much everybody that was invited had just gotten there. We were about six people all together, some which I had not met before.

It was interesting to learn that basically most of us where from different parts of the world, which correlated with Dina’s international travels.

She marveled everyone with her trip stories, all those moments that made it unforgettable, and makes you want to do some of that until your ‘travel bug’ is satisfied.

I looked at Dina while she talked and felt grateful to have her as a friend, as well as be reminded of the so many things I could be discovering around the world.

But, I can’t complaint. I have done some traveling on my own terms and for specific reasons. I have given closure to plenty of things post divorce and feel I am at ease right now.

It’s not that I don’t want to travel no more, but I will start doing it again when the right moment comes. And when that happens it will be just for me as the one who has finally regained who I am as a person, and that is now in a happy and peaceful place.

It will be to discover the other wondrous things the world has to offer and not necessarily to close the gap in issues that were pending in my life. That journey has already been made, and what a ride it was.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
