The New M.E. Generation











{September 22, 2010}   Friendship Above All – Second time around

After the Ivan incident, I decided to take a very long break from online dating. I know he was the first and only date, but the experience left me even more frustrated about love.

It had such an effect on me that I just ‘retreated’ from going out all together. My outings became very limited to just meeting up with Dina and her friends for drinks or dinner.

The rest of the time I stayed home and watched a movie or TV, or simply hanged out by myself. My free time during the weekend was devoted to running errands or just sleeping as much as I could. Talking about getting a lot of ‘beauty sleep.’

But, again, after a while, the lack of social interaction started to make me feel lonely again. Weekends became very long and my space felt very big.

So what’s the next big thing for me? Give online dating another shot? Hmm, I’ve tried everything I could think about. Are there any more choices for me? Not more that I knew of.

All right, this is what I’ll do. I’ll glance over the pictures at the dating website and if one (yes, one) really gets my attention, I will contact that person.

And if anything evolves eventually, like meeting in person, etc., I will do so first as a friend and let things happen very slowly. What I’m trying to say is that, if all else fails, if at least I gain a new friend, I will be fine with that.

Wait! Being friends with a guy I just date? Well, that’s something worth giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
