The New M.E. Generation











{October 11, 2010}   Friendship Above All 16 – The way you look

Over the next couple of months Alex and I kept seeing each other, but not all the time. He would have the kids every other weekend and would totally dedicate his time to them.

I also learned that he had decided to take the medicine board examinations to get his license here in the US. He wasn’t planning on being a doctor again, but rather use the license as a means to get a more competitive and better paying job.

The three tests are administered yearly, with duration of 8 hours each. He had already started studying for them on his own and was going to take them during the upcoming year.

I told him that I thought this was very remarkable and I knew he would successfully pass each one. I also like people who always wanted to better themselves or go after new goals in life.

Eventually I got to meet his children and had the opportunity to see how good a father he was, as well as the kind of relationship he had with them. His kids also had a good relationship with each other and seemed well adjusted to their current parents’ situation.

All this was very good for me to witness. Considering I will probably end up with a divorced man with children, knowing how good or bad the relationship between the two parts is could be a deal breaker.

The only thing I was slightly uncomfortable about was that I felt some distance from him when we were all together. I know that he has been the first guy I’ve dated which the children were present. And the fact that I have none also makes me feel somewhat awkward, as I feel at times I don’t know what to do or say when I’m around them.

But, tonight, he is looking at me differently. After watching a movie at the theater, we all headed to get a slice of pizza. We all sat together at a booth, him and me together on one side.

I noticed that he was smiling a lot and would look at me from time to time right into my eyes. He was obviously happy and I was trying to figure out why. Strange, I believe this is the first time I have seen him smile. This is quite unusual.

Hmm, maybe he has come to a point in his life that he has learned to enjoy simple moments like this. Or maybe he’s looking forward to accomplishing all his goals and making his life even better than what it is right now.

Whatever it might be I’m happy for him, and hope it stays that way because he deserves it.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
