The New M.E. Generation











{October 12, 2010}   Friendship Above All 17 – Tripping out

A long weekend was soon approaching and Madelyn wanted to meet with me somewhere in the states. I quickly started researching ideas that were affordable and not that far away.

But because of the date, costs were obviously up from what they normally are, and the only way to make it more manageable was to try to add people to the trip.

Dina has already made other plans, and Alex was the only other option I could think about. I know I’m talking about sharing a room with a guy. But he and I have already known each other for some time, and felt confident Alex would behave accordingly. And, I know Madelyn trusted my judgment, and would be fine with her.

Of course, I spoke with her first and then to Alex who I knew had no plans for that weekend and was without his kids as well. He greatly appreciated my invitation and felt I cared about him being alone during those days.

I kept with the planning, but the more I tried to find a viable alternative, the more complicated it got for various reasons. Things really went from bad to worse when Madelyn expressed that the options available were too expensive and was going to ‘bail out.’ Then Alex ‘dropped the bomb’ on me, and I mean a really big one.

“If I go on this trip with or without your friend, I will only do so as your boyfriend.”

Holy! What? Say again? Where did that come from? What’s happening here? Did I hear right? Something inside of me hit the ‘mute’ button while my mind was trying to decode the message received.

“Remember that night at the pizza place?” asked he. “Something happened there that made me look at you differently. Right now I see you more than a friend, but as someone whom I would like to have a romantic relationship with. So, like I said, I will go on this trip only as your boyfriend.”

(Emma, say something!) “I don’t know what to tell you. I really had no sense that you had other feelings for me. You have to give me a chance to internalize this situation.”

Translation: I need to speak to Madelyn, now!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
