The New M.E. Generation











{October 17, 2011}   Putting Yourself Online 22 – The options that we have

I really thought that after that last phone call it was definitely over between Ivan and me. I had completely taken him out of my existence when, out of the blue, he sent me a text message sometime past 10 pm, when I was already asleep. It read the basic ‘how are you?’

This is so weird. He has never, ever, initiated a call or text before. For this to happen it’s because something extraordinary happened, even really bad. I thought about the possibilities such as that he lost his job, his health is not well, or perhaps it had something to do with his family.

Since I knew he is not much of a talker, the ‘conversation’ was continued electronically, through which I learned that his girlfriend was traveling and he was out at a bar with some friends.

Hmm, so you’re texting me because: (a) you’re realizing not getting involved with me was a mistake; (b) I’m happy with my woman, but could use some company while she’s away; (c) things are not going well and have no one else to ‘text’ to; (d) all of the above.

The texting continued until he finally revealed that things were indeed not well from his end. Of course, he didn’t specifically say what that entitled; that’s the way he always dealt with things. He would just let you know enough, but not enough to reveal his emotions or true self.

He would always say, ‘everyone has problems’ in an attempt for others to see his situation as unimportant or lesser than their own. In a way he was reacting like me; he was protecting himself from feeling any more pain than what he already was.

The conversation continued and I offered him to come over the next evening and talk, if he wanted to (or was open to that). I knew he was going to say ‘no’, but I gave it a shot. And in a twist of events, he said ‘yes’.

Damn, it must be really bad, whatever his situation may be. I hope he does show up tomorrow. Still, he can reverse to his old ways and give me the excuse that he doesn’t like talking about his issues.

Hmm, sound to be this is all about option ‘b’.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
