The New M.E. Generation











{November 28, 2011}   Putting Yourself Online 27 – Looking forward

It had been a few weeks since I last contacted Ivan. I didn’t make the effort of doing so, as I felt that he needed to deal with the situation on his own. Besides, if he ever wanted to reach out to me, he knew where to find me.

Instead, I turned my attention to Dina. We haven’t been seen each other for a while, so I suggested meeting one Sunday afternoon at an antique market.

She loved the idea and off we went. While looking at all the store windows and kiosks of vendors selling pretty much anything, she and I had the chance to catch up with our lives, whatever there was to it.

Ironically, we pretty much shared the same feelings and concerns for life ahead, and it was refreshing to me that at least someone was on the same page as me.

And, as we walked down the market, who else came out of a store? The one and only; Ivan. Another guy and a woman accompanied him.

To my surprise, he looked pretty good. And, best of all, I had no negative reaction towards the woman. It didn’t even cross my mind if she was the ex or what relationship she had with him.

“Hey, how are you?” said I happily while giving him a one-arm hug. I also introduced Dina to all of them.

His entourage was a family member (the guy) and a friend (the woman). The guy was in town visiting and she tagged along for the day.

After all the exchange of brief words, I said good-bye to everyone and left. I didn’t utter any words in the line of ‘give me a call sometime’ or else.

Once we were away at a good distance, Dina promptly asked, “who is that guy from all those you have told me about, if you have? He’s cute!”

I summarized it as brief as I could. “Basically, he started dating someone else, had a relationship with her, and she ended up cheating on him. Well, that’s what he told me.”

“Seriously? Wow, can’t believe it,” said she. She was shaking her head in disbelief. Then she dropped the bomb (sort of). “Have you ever wondered what your life had been if the two of you had ended up together?”

That question stopped me on my tracks, literally. I stopped walking and looked up analyzing what she said. “No, I really haven’t. Looking back I can only think that if he chose not to is because…I don’t know.

I would have liked to, but I’m not sure if it was the right time, period.”

“If he came back, would you give him a chance?”

“No!! After you get cheated on, you need to take some time off, and it’s never good to be involved with someone who’s on the rebound.”

“Well, maybe that’s what happened to you before. He saw it was not in you yet to be in a relationship.”

So I guess that’s it; that’s what happened. It was all so clear now.

It was a huge sense of relief, and this encounter was no accident. I needed to be there with Dina, facing this moment to finally put Ivan to rest.

And, just like that, I kept walking ahead, never looking back (not even to check if Ivan was behind me), looking forward to whatever might come next.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
