The New M.E. Generation











{January 30, 2012}   Emotions Re-Act 9 – Face forward

I have no recollection of the first part of the day. What I do remember was that the brunch was at a hotel and we stayed there way into the late afternoon.

We were walking around the property and sat somewhere to talk, when something extraordinary happened.

No, it wasn’t romantic. Instead, I got sick as in ‘wasted’, ‘trashed’, whichever way you want to call it. It was the first time I was in a situation like this and it was really bad.

I may have been in college, but I never took a drink while underage. I had decided that I would stay away from trouble because I was far from home and knew my parents wouldn’t bail me out.

I was trying to hold myself together, but it got to a point he noticed I wasn’t looking that well.

He asked me if I was fine, and at first I said ‘yes’, but quickly switched to ‘no’. Don’t know how, but my head ended up resting on his lap.

I was so embarrassed I couldn’t look at him at his face. Darn it! I get to go out with this guy and this is how I get to impress him?

In spite of everything, he was completely at ease and didn’t seem upset at my condition. How nice, he was probably feeling sorry for me.

Then, the next ‘extraordinary’ event of the day occurred. Translation: I needed to throw up.

I turned my head and saw a wastebasket. I knew I wasn’t going to make it to the bathroom, so I ran to it. Oh my gosh, it was horrible, but it definitely made me feel better.

Incredibly, this guy was right behind me, giving me support. He treated this whole incident like it wasn’t such a big deal.

After I felt somewhat better, it was time to do nothing else but to leave. It was the end of this day and whatever chance of anything else happening beyond this point.

I don’t remember getting home, putting myself to bed or else.

The next day is another story. My mom questioned me why I got back at the time I did (which was?) and me having the face I had.

I didn’t tell her about the ‘incident’, and that we were just having fun.

She basically advised me to be careful at whatever I did, regardless of what guy it was.

Yes, mom, I know you’re right. And I’ll definitely think about what you said…when my hangover is gone.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
