The New M.E. Generation











{March 4, 2013}   The Undateables 19 – Who’s in charge here? I am!

I suggested we went to the restaurant on my car using the reason that I knew how to get there easily.

Reality was I still wanted to be in the ‘driver’s seat’ of controlling the situation. Plus, after his never-ending travel to my place, I just wanted to get to the location quickly and finish the night the same way.

We got there within a few minutes and got some wine. I, again, was facing him forward and kept my serious demeanor at all times.

He started talking about pretty much what we did way back on our first date, especially on the ‘I can’t believe my friend didn’t tell me about you’ topic, and I realized this was going to be a long evening.

“Listen,” said I, “if it is beyond your believe that he never told you about me, why don’t you call him and complain to him directly?”

That threw him off guard completely. Seriously, dude, enough with your whining already. I’ll tell you why he probably didn’t tell you; you’re annoying!

When he realized I wasn’t into discussing that topic, he kept on with other ones from before, but between the drink and meal, I simply tuned out the conversation. I managed to do that so well I can’t recall any of it.

And, just when I thought the dinner had some time left to finish, turns out the people sitting at the table next to us were from the same hometown, and off he was talking to them.

“Well, hey,” said he, “you probably knew (name), he was my uncle! Man, I loved that guy!”

Where does this come from? I knew who that person was. He was a very well known public figure that became famous on a national level when people from home were starting to make a presence in it.

Unfortunately he passed away rather quickly about 15 years ago and it was a big blow for everyone. He was very close to him and the drinking surely brought back memories of the times they shared together.

The people at the other table didn’t pay much attention into that so he kept talking about it with me. Although I admired his uncle, I wasn’t much into listening about him, but at least it was a change of topics that didn’t include me, his friend, or anything else I’ve already heard far too many times.

He kept on going until, to my luck, we finished dinner, the wine and anything else he wanted to say.

Time to move on = ‘check please!’

Leave a Reply

et cetera
