The New M.E. Generation











{March 25, 2013}   The Undateables 21 – The end of the end?

In spite of my very early ‘wake-up call’, I did manage to get a good night’s sleep. When I woke up I was feeling rested and decided to stay in bed.

But after a short while the blurry memory of the text message came back. I felt compelled in reading it in full, but decided not to. I just didn’t want to get upset again more than I had been the day before.

I decided to avoid loosing control and give myself a good breakfast with some strong coffee. Then I sat down and decided what to do next.

I had two choices, either delete the message or call him and express my discontent with what he wrote. Sounds good but getting him on the phone, that’s an impossible.

So, yes, why don’t I try the second when I will most probably won’t get my message across? If he doesn’t answer I’ll leave a message to call me back, erase the text and continue with my day as usual.

All right, let’s do this … and it’s ringing, ringing, waiting for the call to go to voicemail, and … he answered!

“Hey, how are you?” asked I.

“Fine, how about you?” said he.

Wow! For the first time that I remember, he’s finally talking normal.

“Listen, I know our dates haven’t been the best, but your message in the wee hours of the morning was too much,” said I.

“Sorry, I was drunk.” (No kidding, but at least we finally agree on something.) “But you shouldn’t have let me drive home.” (Here we go again!)

“Well, guess what? I’m not having sex with you. Second of all, it is my apartment and I will do whatever I want.”

“OK, OK, I’m sorry!”

I don’t remember what else was said, but it ended in a ‘in between’ note, meaning neither good or bad. How many times will there be an ending? When will the end of the end finally occur?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
