The New M.E. Generation











{April 22, 2013}   Take Me Back – What not to do

There are people in everyone’s life that touch you in such a way that you never forget them.

Of course, one particular person I’m talking about is a guy. But, it’s not one that I met after I became single again. No, this goes all the way back to high school, and it all occurred in a daring move that I did, which it’s probably the first time that I had the guts to do something like that.

It all started one afternoon after school when I was about 16 years old. I was with two former girlfriends and we had walked to a pharmacy/cafeteria to buy something.

Among the people that were there included three guys wearing naval uniforms. There were talking in a foreign language and those two elements caught my attention (hey, what girl doesn’t like a guy in uniform?).

I looked at them guys with great curiosity. Although I grew up in a big city, I was educated in a conservative catholic school and rose by on overly protective family.

Looking at men who were total strangers and, even more, foreign sailors, while still wearing my school uniform with other female students, and walking around the neighborhood on our own, was not exactly the correct thing to do.

But something inside of me went against all that.

I told my girlfriends about these guys, wondering where they were from and what were they doing here.

My girlfriends paid no attention and couldn’t understand what my interest was with them. I kept the conversation, but never loosing sight of the men.

What happened next is something that still baffles me until today: I went over and started talking to them.

Yep, the girl who was told how to live her life went out and broke all the rules. Just like that, with no reason to do so, she introduced herself and made a connection she had no idea how it would cross all borders.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
