The New M.E. Generation











{May 20, 2013}   Take Me Back 5 – Walk this way

Johann took me for a tour of the ship and showed me all that he could of it. I was really interested in this naval life of his and asked him a lot of questions. My mom walked around on her own keeping an eye on me. I kept my distance at all times while walking with him.

He also behaved properly. He had to, not because he was ‘working’, but because his fellow sailors were watching him closely. I’m sure they were curious about me and would grill Johann afterwards about my presence. All this attention was unfamiliar to me.

A few hours later the ship announced that the visiting hours were over. I thought it would be the same for my encounter with Johann.

I don’t remember who asked whom first, but we agreed to exchange addresses (‘snail mail’ in those days that is). I do remember that my mom had a scrap piece of paper and pen on her purse. I tore it in half and each wrote the information in whatever space was available. I also included my phone number.

I noticed that his address was on the ship. I asked him how he would receive mail while sailing around the world. He explained that it was sent home to Europe and then forwarded to the ship in the country they were visiting. It sounded like the mail traveled more than the ship itself.

Another thing that happened before I left (again, don’t recall who initiated it) was that he would try to call me the next day (Sunday) and hopefully meet somewhere outside the ship, like the beach.

I have no recollection of what happened after I left the ship. I know I went back home with my mom and that was probably the end of the activities for that day.

I don’t think my mom questioned me on my meeting with Johann. I probably did tell her that he might call the next day to which she expressed no objection.

Back home I’m sure I had the biggest smile on my face. But looking back I now realize that that day happened in part because my mother made it possible.

Question is: why did she go along with it?

Like I said before, she was very protective of me. This situation is something I never gave thought to until now.

The answer is: I don’t know (yet). I’ll think about it and get back to that later.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
