The New M.E. Generation











{June 24, 2013}   Take Me Back 10 – The years after

Our friendship continued and remained solid for years to come. That included the letters, which were exchanged frequently.

Eventually the correspondence included more than letters. I remember sending him photos and an assortment of gifts, including music. I would always try to send him something that wasn’t expensive to mail.

On one occasion he sent me a card, like those for Valentine’s. It was red, with hearts and a love message. Inside there was a pendant with his name engraved on it.

I felt it was so personal, I kept it in the card and wrote him that I didn’t deserve such a valuable item, but grateful on his gesture of trusting me with it. It was the closest I ever felt to him after seeing him the second time.

Some years later I graduated from high school and went to college. The writing continued and I even had a picture of him on my freshman’s dorm room bulletin board.

I’m not sure if it was during this time or after that he completed his marine merchant service/education and returned home. We were both dating other people, but the sentiment between us always remained.

But the letters came to an end when he wrote saying that he was getting married, but that I would always remain in a special place on his heart. I always knew our relationship would end, but I wasn’t prepared for it that way.

Some years later, I got married myself. I took the box that kept all of his letters to my new residence. Thinking he had moved on and that I should do the same, I read each and every one of them, and ripped them off. I only kept a few, including the card with the pendant and the one telling me about his marriage. I believe all photos were untouched.

This is something I have regretted badly, especially after my ‘x’ divorced me, and the contact I had with Johann was all gone.

Lesson learned: always keep those positive things that will help you look back on life with a smile on your face.

This smile came back to me after searching, yet again, inside a storage box.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
