The New M.E. Generation











{November 16, 2015}   The Ex-Friend 10 – Separate states of mind

On the second day of the year, I flew back home.

Madeline took me to the airport. It was a sort of bittersweet good-bye with her. We were now living in separate states and as much as we have been friends for years, she was someone that heavily guarded her persona.

What I really knew about her were bits and pieces that she had shared with me, but of such a size that you couldn’t put together to create a timeline of anything.

If I had a wall in front of me for protection, she had one of thick steel, as one of those that you know there’s no way you can go through it. Even more, she’s one of those persons that you never know what they will do next.

At that time I didn’t thought about this much, as I needed friends on my side. But wondered somehow if all those issues that she vaguely shared with me would become resolved. How or what the results would be was even more mysterious.

The weather continued changing and now it was in the 20’s. Thank goodness I was carrying my coat.

While on the plane the captain said, “our destination has a somewhat warmer temperature, like in the 30’s”, to which everyone on board replied with a discontent noise.

It was ironic to think that I lived in a warm state that people traveled to escape the cold in the upper ones.

When I got to my destination airport, I stood at an area waiting to be picked up to get to my car at a garage I had left it at while away.

It was really cold, as cold as when I would arrive back to college from the holiday break. I looked around and tried to connect my emotions back to those years.

It was a mix of joy and anticipation that this year was going to be better than before. But now I was heading to an empty home with no one to share my space with like in a college dorm.

There are no classes to attend, but life lessons to be learned with the hope of graduating with a degree of knowledge of how to find a companion and successfully hold a relationship.

But as much as I may think I’m ready for whatever life throws at me, evolving, like the planets in the universe, is a process as timeless as creation itself.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
