The New M.E. Generation











{November 30, 2015}   The Ex-Friend – Calling it by name

A few days later after getting this lousy call, I was still upset. It was bringing out some old feelings that I’ve worked so hard to overcome.

Plus, I have lost so much with my divorce and my friend was someone I was not willing to lose, even less for that bitch. My friend always said to me that ‘there would be nothing that would break our friendship apart’ and that he told her that if she wanted to be with him, she had to accept the fact that I would always be in his life. If she or any other woman didn’t like it, then it was time for her to go.

I appreciated his loyalty to me, but I knew things are easier said than done. My ‘x’ had expressed his discontent about him when married and although I knew things weren’t good, after you invest so much time and emotions, it’s not that easy to end a relationship.

More especially so of my friend, who had never had a relationship until now, knowing he would go as far as he could to make it work; failure wasn’t an option for him.

And as my mom has always said, ‘there are women that would do any business to have a man next to them’, which in this case was applying right on target with the bitch.

My friend called me and apologized about the incident. He said that she had complained about my constant calling (which wasn’t true) and that she didn’t like it. She went as far as spying on my friend’s phone and monitoring all incoming texts and messages whenever he unattended his device.

He said he wasn’t giving up my friendship and if she dared call me after his warning, there would be a major problem between them. The relationship was in really bad shape and he didn’t know how things would end.

From the conversation that we had, it seems this would be the last I would hear from this bitch. I trusted my then friend would do the right thing.

If you’re wondering about Madeline, after her Europe trip, she went to live with her mother back home. Eventually she made her way back to my city and came over to visit me.

She cooked for both of us and while eating, she shared a video of her from back home where she got baptized in a river in the interior of the island.

I watched it and had no words to say about it. I knew she had wanted to embrace Christianity, but this was something she could have done where she was living and working before.

I kept thinking what my friend said about not doing something to an extreme and this was one of them.

I was attending church, but wasn’t letting my involvement take over my whole life like she let it happen.

I looked at her and wondered how she, the one I always considered the strongest of the two, be consumed by this.

I was the one who have been down, vulnerable, confused, insecure. How was it possible then that I didn’t fall for a behavior that misled me from the right path?

Why was I feeling unsure about my two best friends that their lives were heading in the wrong direction?

I couldn’t understand why they were behaving this way when they had always taught me the opposite, but from where I was sitting, my life for the first time in a while didn’t seem so bad.

I guess that’s what it means when ‘divine intervention works in mysterious ways’.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
