The New M.E. Generation











{March 21, 2016}   The Ex-Friend 27 – Unsettling feeling

One day to the next he was back to the U.S. Everything was so confusing and happened so quickly, that it didn’t give me time to process his move and abrupt return. I was still as confused about everything as when he announced that he was leaving.

Because he had no place to live, he opted to go stay with his mom. This way, he could save money while he found another job. Plus, he could spend some time with her, which was important to him due to her health.

He had also mentioned to me that going back to the state where he lived with the classless girlfriend wasn’t an option.

He simply hated how expensive it was to live there, a responsibility he took on himself entirely because she never worked due to language or residency issues.

On top of that, her son didn’t worked either, so he ‘paid for everything and these two were totally ungrateful to me. They never appreciated anything I did for them.’

He hated that location so much and everything it represented, that ‘when I passed the state line while moving, I felt like ripping the license plate off my car and throwing it away as far as I could.’

I clearly remember when he told me on the phone. His tone was one of being highly disgusted, of not having anything good to say about his years there. I could even imagine his face all boiled up and angry.

Looking back it’s scary to realize now how diabolic he sounded, like someone who wanted to take revenge on his ex and had started taking the first steps into that by leaving.

It’s diabolic in the sense that he was conjuring up a plan to inflict some pain on her for what she had done to him.

Once again, I didn’t think much of him then. I never saw him as one who would let his anger take over him and make him do what you never expected he would.

Once he settled in his mom’s house, he remained sort of quiet with me. I had recently started a new job and he didn’t want to invite me over yet so ‘I could concentrate on what I was doing.’ According to him, he ‘wanted me settle down on the job first and foremost.’

He was himself going through the change of being back and else. Curiously he wasn’t saying much about himself, which was kind of odd. It was a feeling that, for now, it was all about me and new stage in my life.

I knew he was unhappy with his life, but being with his mom sort of calmed him down and seemed he was slowly getting back to being his old self, at least that’s what I was perceiving.

Truth is, even when having people close to you, there’s always an internal distance that separates you from them. There are always storms within us that sometimes get too big to control, and you never see them coming until they hit you.

And when they do, they break you apart in such a way that even the best reconstruction efforts will always leave dents within your foundation. You may fix things, but they’ll never be the same, ever.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
